Prizes awarded for Kaiso Headquarters

The police auditorium was completely transformed on Saturday night for the sixth Kaiso Headquarters Prize Giving Ceremony.  Options Designs definitely pulled a few tricks out of

Deputy Commissioner of Police Moses Charles (L) presents the award for Best Supporting Unit to a representative from the Traffic Department.

their hat to envisage the white fabric chairs adorning the floor, complemented by the colours of the flag hugging the walls leading to the stage where all the action was taking place.
Acting Police Commissioner, Vernon Francois, delivered the welcoming remarks.  He hailed this year’s Kaiso Headquarters as a success calling it “a historic year for us.” He went further to commend the calypsonians and the committee for their tireless efforts in putting on a top notch event.  For him, the only way for Kaiso Headquarters is forward and as such, he anticipates next year’s show will be even grander.  Francois called on his troops to aim for the Inter-Commercial House Crown in 2012.
Dyson Imbert is the event coordinator for Kaiso Headquarters.  He revealed that this initiative was born out of the foresight of Francois when he served as ACP in charge of

Digicel representative Fiona Smith (L) gives token to Melissa James.

Crime and Intelligence. He described Francois as the driving force behind what has become a quality product.  As such, Imbert called Francois to the stage and presented him with a token on behalf of a grateful committee and the Royal St Lucia Police Force.
The feature presentation was excerpts from this year’s show and clips from the performances of the runners up and the Kaiso King Jayhan “Sprata Pra” Narcisse.  Trophies were handed out to the calypsonians and the efforts of Randy “King Green” Harris (3rd runner up), Tamara “Brown Sugar” Wilfred (2nd runner up), Melissa “The Slayer” James (1st runner up) and the two time Kaiso Headquarters winner Jayhan Narcisse were recognized by the Force and its sponsors.
Special awards were given to Nyo Emmanuel for her invaluable support in producing the

Carnival Committee Chairman John Joseph (L) gives Jayhan Narcisse his prize.

show.  The Traffic Department was awarded as the Best Supporting Unit and Francois presented an award to the RC Boys School who allowed their students to be guest performers.

Share your feedback with us.

Comments are closed.

← Go Back | Local Back to Top ↑
THE STAR Newspaper
Magazines available in THE STAR Newspaper
2nite Magazine
Sports & Health Inc

Lifestyle & Archives