Some athletes short changed again for awards

With the National Sports Awards right around the corner, the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports has short listed nominees for prestigious awards, however, several sporting organizations short changed their athletes by not nominating them for the awards before the prescribed deadline.
The National Sports Awards held under the distinct patronage of Governor General, Her Excellency, Dame Pearlette Louisy, takes place February 5 at the Gaiety, Rodney Bay. Besides the governor general, Prime Minister, Kenny Anthony, is also expected to be in attendance along with Minister of Youth Development and Sports, Shawn Edwards, who is guest speaker for the evening.

Reigning Sportswoman of the Year Lavern Spencer.

While addressing the media at Thursday’s press conference at Bay Gardens Inn, Director of Youth and Sports, Victor Reid, expressed disappointment at what has become an ongoing problem.
“We have a serious concern regarding nominations by the associations,” he said. “We have 23 national associations and so far we have 14 associations that have provided us with their nominees. Nine associations have defaulted.”
Although Reid did not go into specifics as to why associations continue to ignore deadline submissions for nominees its apparent that in some cases associations just don’t care or quite frankly do not have an athlete that fits the criteria.

Cricketer Shayline Williams is a nominee for Sportswoman of the Year.

Following are the athletes shortlisted for the prestigious awards of Junior Sportsman, Junior Sportswoman, Sportswoman and Sportsman for 2011. The Athletics Association did submit their nominees but requested their names be withheld for now, due to the fact they are having their awards ceremony tonight. Under consideration for top female in athletics are two high jumpers: Multi Sportswoman of the Year Levern Spencer and Jeannelle Scheper.
Under consideration for top male performer in athletics is high jumper Darvin Edwards and long distance runner Zepherinus Joseph.
Junior Sportswoman: Ianna Hippolyte (netball); Siona Huxley (swimming).
Junior Sportsman: Lyndell “The Russian” Marcellin (boxing); Jamil Joseph (football); Jordan Augier (swimming).
Sportswoman: Swayline Williams (cricket); Danielle Beaubrun (swimming).
Sportsman: Lyndell Marcellin (boxing); Darren Sammy (cricket); Joshua Runako Daniel (swimming).

Cricketer Darren Sammy.

Besides the prestigious awards several others will be presented, including the Association of the Year and recognition of persons who have contributed to sports through coaching and administration.

Share your feedback with us.

Comments are closed.

← Go Back | Sports Back to Top ↑
THE STAR Newspaper
Magazines available in THE STAR Newspaper
2nite Magazine
Sports & Health Inc

Lifestyle & Archives

  • 2Nite Magazine TV

    2Nite Magazine's Candid Camera

    You never know where 2Nite Magazine will capture you next. You may very well be the next one 'caught on candid camera' at the next event!! If its HIP and its HAPPENING, then its in 2Nite! Hosted by: Faye-Chantelle Mondesir (Empress Faye)

    Posted by 2nite Magazine on Friday, 22 January 2016
  • Contact us via WhatsApp with news on 1 758 720 2896

    What's App
    Send us your news or contact us with your story via What's App.
  • Sound your voice and cast your ballot!

  • Poll for the week

    See all polls and results
  • TALK or VENT here!

    TALK or VENT constructively and share your feedback on our weekly news and stories. CONSTRUCTIVE talk is welcome. You have a voice with The STAR Newspaper!
    TALK or VENT constructively and share your feedback on our weekly news and stories. CONSTRUCTIVE talk is welcome. You have a voice with The STAR Newspaper!
  • Subscribe for latest news and updates

    Enter your email address to subscribe and receive latest news and updates via email.

  • The St.Lucia STAR Newspaper

  • STAR Articles