Anse La Raye – Blackheart Champions

The victorious Anse La Raye team, winner of the Blackheart Knockout Football Tournament.

While the Dallas Mavericks were celebrating after winning their first ever NBA title on Sunday evening, here in St Lucia Anse La Raye joined them in the winner’s circle. They captured their first Blackheart Football Knockout Championship, with a victory over Canaries early Monday morning at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.
A 22nd minute strike from former national player Benjamin “Satan” Gabriel, was enough to give Anse La Raye a 1-0 victory in the finals. That performance earned him the Tournament MVP award.
Anse La Raye had the better of exchanges on the day and deserved their championship win. For their victory, Anse La Raye recieved $15,000 dollars, the LIME Trophy along with all members of their team receiving replica trophies.
Second placed Canaries took home $7,500 dollars, the runner-up trophy sponsored by Guinness and 25 replica trophies for each member of their team.
In the third place playoff which was a seven goal thriller, Dennery came out on top and took the third place trophy sponsored by Peter and Company  agents for Gatorade,  $3,500 and 25 bronze medals after an exciting 4-3 win over Mon Repos.
Dennery were led to victory with goals from Angus William in the 27th minute, Kurt Frederick in the 32nd and in injury time and Winnel Felix in the 58th minute.
For Mon Repos, their goals scorers were Joel Charles in the 16th minute, Hazel Charlery in the 28th minute and Shervin Charles in the 84th minute.
For their Fourth place finish, Mon Repos received a trophy from Trophy Centre and $1,500 in cash.
The following awards were presented following the tournament. Most Promising Youth Player, 17-year-old Alton Joseph (Canaries); Best Manager, Somers Agustine (Anse La Raye); Best Coach, Somers Agustine (Anse La Raye); Fastest Goal Scored, Dane St Croix (Anse La Raye) in the sixth minute of the semi final match between Anse La Raye and Mon Repos, Best Dressed Team Dennery; Most Spectacular Goal, Hirum Hunte (Dennery) a  goal scored against Soufriere in second round to give Dennery a 2-1 win; Best Goal Keeper, Vernelle Montoute  (Anse La Raye) the second time he has won this award after winning it while playing for La Clery in an earlier Blackheart Tournament. Only one goal was scored on him in the entire tournament; Best Defender, Rickson Agustine (Anse La Raye); Best Midfielder, Chad St Croix (Anse La Raye); Top Goal Scorer, Joel Charles (Mon Repos) three goals in the tournament; Fair Play Trophy, Desruisseaux; Tournament MVP, Benjamin “Satan” Gabriel (Anse La Raye).

Share your feedback with us.

Comments are closed.

← Go Back | Sports Back to Top ↑
THE STAR Newspaper
Magazines available in THE STAR Newspaper
2nite Magazine
Sports & Health Inc

Lifestyle & Archives