Our Planet set for film festival!

From tigers to elephants, oceans and deserts to arctic regions, with Disney and BBC filmmakers, from what goes into the water we drink and the food we eat—the first Our Planet Environmental Film Festival has it all!
The much-anticipated launch of the Our Planet Environmental Film Festival is finally here, and the Our Planet team is more than ready to deliver. As environmental warriors they are fighting for the earth, armed with a whole selection of exciting yet educational documentaries. The environmental film festival has one main purpose and that is to raise funds, which will be used to develop a plastic bottle recycling initiative for St Lucia. Taking a look around the island its no secret that we have a problem with plastic bottles littering the shoreline and riverbanks, blocking drains and generally making the streets look unclean. It is said that it takes approximately 450 years for a plastic bottle to decompose! So the problem will not go away by itself.
The saying goes “no man is an island” and we cannot always do things alone so Our Planet would like to thank all their sponsors and supporters; British High Commission, LIME, LUCELEC, Sandals, SLASPA, West Indies Shipping & Trading, Calabash Tv, CFL, DBS, JQ amongst others.
The Our Planet team assures an enjoyable film experience, with some great photography that will blow you away.  So if you missed this weekend’s showcase, make sure you don’t miss next week’s film “The man who stopped the Desert” filmed by Mark Dodd from the BBC.
The following films will be playing during the film festival:

Friday 22nd June/Saturday 23rd June  – The man who stopped the desert
Friday 29th June/Saturday 30th June – Home
Friday 13th July/Saturday 14th July – Tapped
Friday 20th July/Saturday 21st July – Disneynature Oceans
Friday 3rd August/ Saturday 4th August – Great Migrations
Friday 10th August/Saturday 11th August – The 11th hour
Friday 17th August/Saturday 18th August – A sea of change; Imagine a world without fish
Friday 24th August/ Saturday 25th August – The end of the line
Friday 31st August/Saturday 1st September – The silent Sentinels & the perils of plectropomus
Friday 7th September/Saturday 8th September – Encounters at the end of the world
Friday 14TH September/Saturday 15th September – Food Inc.
Friday 21st September/Saturday 22nd September – Film festival finale – Wildlife spectacular
Playing Fridays at 6.30pm and repeated Saturday’s 3.00pm.
Ticket price EC$15

The Our Planet Film Festival is all about the environment.

Sarah Adams of Our Planet tells the audience all about the exciting weeks ahead!

Share your feedback with us.

Comments are closed.

← Go Back | Lifestyle Back to Top ↑
THE STAR Newspaper
Magazines available in THE STAR Newspaper
2Nite Magazine for Saturday October 1st, 2016 ~ Issue no. 204
2nite Magazine
Sports & Health Magazine for October 1st, 2016 ~ Issue no. 112
Sports & Health Inc

Lifestyle & Archives

  • 2Nite Magazine TV

    2Nite Magazine's Candid Camera

    You never know where 2Nite Magazine will capture you next. You may very well be the next one 'caught on candid camera' at the next event!! If its HIP and its HAPPENING, then its in 2Nite! Hosted by: Faye-Chantelle Mondesir (Empress Faye)

    Posted by 2nite Magazine on Friday, 22 January 2016
  • Contact us via WhatsApp with news on 1 758 720 2896

    What's App
    Send us your news or contact us with your story via What's App.
  • Sound your voice and cast your ballot!

  • Poll for the week

    See all polls and results
  • TALK or VENT here!

    TALK or VENT constructively and share your feedback on our weekly news and stories. CONSTRUCTIVE talk is welcome. You have a voice with The STAR Newspaper!
    TALK or VENT constructively and share your feedback on our weekly news and stories. CONSTRUCTIVE talk is welcome. You have a voice with The STAR Newspaper!
  • Subscribe for latest news and updates

    Enter your email address to subscribe and receive latest news and updates via email.

  • The St.Lucia STAR Newspaper

  • STAR Articles